Easy Recipe: Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding

Whoa, it’s been AGES since I even thought about making pudding.
Not only have I not made pudding in ages, but I don’t think I even considered the idea of making it from something other than milk. Well, I got turned around when I saw a recipe recently for an apparently vegan chocolate pudding. Yes, vegan. I’m not vegan, we all know this by now. In fact, I wonder if sprinkling some crispy pastured bacon bits on top of this would be good…hmm. Okay, I’ll come back to earth.

I think this recipe is going to help me stay on my dairy free test over this next month. I’ve been on and off of different elimination diets over the years and I’m testing dairy again. Amen for avocado. Amen.

Wondering why I think avocados are so great? Here’s the lowdown on this creamy fruit:

  • 1 avocado that yields about 130g of fruit contains 227 calories, a whopping 9g of fiber and 3g of protein. Most people are concerned about the fat content in an avocado, but have no fear, this is a HEALTHY fat. And it comes packed with fiber, so enjoy this treat from nature.
  • In that same 130g serving, avocados are high in:
    vitamin C- 20% of your RDA
    vitamin K- 36% of your RDA
    folate – 30% of your RDA
    potassium – 20% of your RDA
    source: nutritiondata.com
  • The healthy fats in an avocado (including oleic acid) aid in the absorption of carotenoids and lycopene. These are nutrients found in fresh foods like carrots and tomatoes. Adding avocado to recipes that include other vegetables can help your body to absorb the nutrients. Yum!

    According to whfoods.com,

    Adding avocado to salsa increased lycopene and beta-carotene absorption 4.4 and 2.6 times higher, respectively, than the average amount of these nutrients absorbed from avocado-free salsa. Since avocados contain a large variety of nutrients including vitamins, minerals, as well as heart-healthy monounsaturated fat, eating a little avocado along with carotenoid-rich vegetables and fruits is an excellent way to improve your body’s ability to absorb carotenoids while also receiving other nutritional-and taste-benefits.

sources: whfoods.com and nutritiondata.com


Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding

(use all organic ingredients when possible)

Ingredients

1 avocado
1 medium-large banana
2 Tbsp coconut or almond milk (I often use homemade, look for the recipe here soon!)
2-3 Tbsp Carob or Cocoa powder (unsweetened)

Optional Ingredients:
a pinch of green leaf stevia
a pinch of sea salt
a dash of cinnamon
1/4 tsp real vanilla extract
1 Tbsp cacao nibs (as garnish, do not put in food processor)

Preparation

  • Halve the avocado and remove the pit. Scoop out the fruit into a food processor with the banana, coconut milk (or other) and carob or cocoa powder.
  • Add any other ingredients and allow it to blend together until completely combined.
  • I use a small hand blender attachment that has a mini-food processor, but you can use a food processor or blender most likely. Depending on how much you’re making, you may need to do a lot of scraping down of the sides of the processor. You could also whip this by hand or with beaters.

Try this out and let me know what your favorite way to make it is! Feel free to share your tips below for other ways to make it. I’m already mulling around ideas of variations I want to make as soon as possible.

If you’d like more easy, healthy recipes or to find out more about holistic lifestyle coaching services in-person (in the Bay Area) or remotely (via phone, email or Skype), contact me today.


Enjoy & be well!
Diane Sanfilippo
Owner, Balanced Bites Holistic Nutrition & Wellness
C.H.E.K. Holistic Lifestyle Coach
Holistic Nutrition Educator student @ Bauman College, Berkeley, CA

Find Balanced Bites around the web:

BLOG: http://www.balancedbites.blogspot.com
WEBSITE: http://www.balancedbites.com
TWITTER: http://twitter.com/balancedbites
FACEBOOK: Become a fan of Balanced Bites

About Diane @ Balanced Bites

A Certified Nutrition Consultant specializing in using old food (paleo/primal/grain-free) to help people find health and healing in a modern world.
This entry was posted in avocado, banana, dessert, easy recipes, paleo, stevia. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Easy Recipe: Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding

  1. m3 real card says:

    Thank you, this sounds wonderful. Banana pudding with vanilla sounds like a perfect combination for me.

  2. Gina says:

    We just made this – it's fantastic! The only thing we changed was the sweetener – we didn't have any stevia, so I used a little blue agave nectar. FANTASTIC – this will always be in our fridge. Thank you!

  3. Diane says:

    @Gina- Awesome! If you use really ripe bananas you can try it without any sweetener too. Maybe try some organic honey next time loosened up in some warm water. I'm so glad you tried it- what made you want to make it? Are you dairy free? Just looking for a change? I have stopped using Agave for a few reasons, mainly that I learned about how highly processed it is via the Weston A Price Foundation- link: http://www.westonaprice.org/Agave-Worse-than-Sugar-Nutrition-Foundation-Warns.htmlDiane 🙂

  4. Dayle says:

    This is great! What a treat…as I'm working on dairy free to try to clear my skin. This texture is really welcoming!Dayle

  5. Diane says:

    @Dayle- Cool! Let me know if you try it with any variations and how it works for you.Diane

  6. Dayle says:

    I might try with shredded coconut or more cinnamon and orange peel…maybe hazelnuts?!

  7. Gina says:

    Thanks for the info re: agave, Diane. We definitely won't be using it anymore! I'll try the riper banana route. Made another batch w/more cinnamon in it this time. Incredible! We're trying to get healthy – cutting out all sugar, flour and going as gluten-free as we can. It's been a week and a half (coming off a baaaaad diet for years) and already my sweets cravings are gone. But if I *do* want sweets, this pudding is first on my list!

  8. Tiffany says:

    Gee, never would've thought to make pudding from avacado, but it makes perfect sense now that i think of it. Thanks! I'm excited about trying this.

  9. I have had a recipe like this floating around for ages and still haven't made it. WHAT am I waiting for?? 🙂

  10. Diane says:

    @Michelle- DO IT NOW!!! 🙂 So yummy! Perfect for a sweetener-free dessert…which is SO my thing right now. Thanks for always inspiring me!Diane

Leave a Reply

